School of Earth and Environment



Research Student Publications Prize 2010

Prizewinners

Matthew Woodhouse (ICAS) - Woodhouse, M. T.; Carslaw, K. S.; Mann, G. W.; Vallina, S. M.; Vogt, M. Halloran, P. R. & Boucher, O., (2010). Low sensitivity of cloud condensation nuclei to changes in the sea-air flux of dimethyl-sulphide. Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics, 10, 7545-7559.

Pieter Bots (ESSI) - Bots, P.; Benning, L.G.; Rickaby, R.E.M.; Shaw, S. (2011). The role of SO4 in the switch from calcite to aragonite seas. Geology (In Press, April 2011 issue).

lan Hamling (IGT) - Hamling, I.; Wright, T.J.; Calais, E.; Bennati, L.; and Lewi, E. (2010). Stress transfer between thirteen successive dyke intrusions in Ethiopia. Nature Geoscience, 3, 713–717.

Kuishuang Feng (SRI) - Feng, K.; Hubacek, K.; Guan, D.; Contestabile, M.; Minx, J.; Barrett, J. (2010). Distributional effects of climate change taxation: the case of the UK. Environmental Science & Technology, 44, 3670-3676.

Commended

Loredana Brinza (ESSI)
Luis Garcia-Carreras (ICAS)
Matthew Garthwaite (IGT)
Nicholas Higgs (ESSI)
Luke Jackson (IGT)
Daniel O'Neill (SRI)
Matthew Pound (ESSI/ICAS)
Jessica Ross (ESSI)

Prizegiving Ceremony

The prizegiving event will take place on **Monday the 7th of March** between 3 and 4.30 pm in Seminar Rooms 1, 2 and 3 on level 8, when each of the 4 prize winners will give a short (~20 min) and accessible presentation about their paper. Following that, the Head of School will present the prizes. There will be a Reception in the lobby where we will all have the chance to celebrate and raise a glass to the prize winners.

ESSI: Earth and Surface Science Institute IGT: Institute of Geophsics and Tectonics

ICAS: Institute for Climate and Atmospheric Science

SRI: Sustainability Resesarch Institute