School of Earth and Environment

Celebrating the School’s Women of Achievement

08.03.2016 - 08:19

Dr Anja Schmidt

Dr Anja Schmidt

Dr Caroline Peacock

Dr Caroline Peacock

To mark International Women's Day, The University's Women of Achievement Awards recognise the significant contribution and impact that both female staff and students have made across the University and beyond.

The awards are part of the University's commitment to further promote gender equality and support the career development of talented women in all areas of the organisation.

This year two leading members of the School have been recognised - Dr Anja Schmidt and Dr Caroline Peacock.

Anja was recognised for her George Walker Award for Volcanology in 2015 and Caroline was recognised for her 2015 European Association of Geochemistry Houtermans Medal.

Nominations were gathered from across the University's community of academic, research, professional and support staff and were judged by a panel that included Pro Vice Chancellors Professor David Hogg and Viv Jones, Linda Mortimer-Pine, Deputy Director of HR, Professor Steve Scott Dean of Maths and Physical Sciences and Professor Jane Francis, a former Dean of the Faculty of Environment and currently Director of the British Antarctic Survey.

All the nominees will be celebrated on the 8th March International Women's Day at a Women of Achievement event hosted by the Vice Chancellor, Sir Alan Langlands. Jane Francis will be the guest speaker, talking about her leadership journey, from the University of Leeds to the British Antarctic Survey.

You will be able to access information about all the nominees from the 8th March on the University's Celebrating Women of Achievement webpage.